OCS Inventory NG Forums

OCS Inventory NG, an OpenSource computer inventory and package deployement system for Windows and Unix

You are not logged in.

#1 2007-05-09 11:45:06

srinivasan
Member
Registered: 2007-05-09
Posts: 5

Agent not updating inventory to the server

Hi All,

First of all, I really need to thank everyone for creating such wonderful application.

I have successfully installed and configured OCS with GLPI in our IT lab. The server is running on Fedora Core and the agent is running on Windows XP.

The problem, the hardware changes on the windows machine are not updated in the server. Everytime, I have to follow the troubleshooting method provided in the documentation. I need to use the /debug switch to force the agent to send the latest inventory to the server.

Is there any way to over come this issue? or Am I missing something on the config? I really appreciate your guidance on this.

NOTE: No firewall is running both on the server and the windows client. Server is live and able to ping it from the client.


Thanks in advance,
Srinivasan

Offline

#2 2007-05-09 12:43:40

dliroulet
OCS Team
From: Toulouse, France
Registered: 2007-03-12
Posts: 1,834
Website

Re: Agent not updating inventory to the server

Hi.

In Admin console, Config menu.

What's the FREQUENCY option value ? Agent only send inventory informations when last inventory is older than FREQUENCY days.

What's the PROLOG_FREQ option value ? Agent is launched by service every PROLOG_FREQ hours.

If FREQUENCY is ALWAYS, inventory is sent to server each time agent is launched.

Cheers


IRC Channel #ocsinventory-ng on FreeNode

Offline

#3 2007-05-10 03:33:18

oak
Member
Registered: 2007-05-10
Posts: 4

Re: Agent not updating inventory to the server

Hi All,
I am also meeting the same issue like below. I installed OCS Server on windows server 2003 and deployed the Agent on windows XP Pro use GPO logon script, all works seemed it's good, Agent service have started in process list when windows start each time.
I set OCS parameter in Admin console, config menu FREQUENCY is ALWAYS, that means Agent will send inventory to OCS server when Agent service start each time. the PROLOG_FREQ is default value 24, but OCS server can't receive any inventory information from Agent, I missed any configuration ? anyone have advice?
I use the troubleshooting suggestion in local Agent directory, I run OCSInventory.exe /server:(my OCS Server IP) /debug, then, Agent send the inventory to OCS Server. If I put this project in production, I think we can't use this way to send invenory to server.  Any setting need me check?
Do the Agent service paremeters need change? in Agent folder have a config file service.ini, the contents is:
[OCS_SERVICE]
NoProxy=0
Server=(my OCS Server IP)
Pnum=80
Miscellaneous=/server:(my OCS Server IP) /S  /server:(my OCS Server IP) /pnum:80
PROLOG_FREQ=10
OLD_PROLOG_FREQ=10
TTO_WAIT=25500
Thanks!

Offline

#4 2007-05-10 19:02:40

tongkhae
Member
Registered: 2007-05-10
Posts: 1

Re: Agent not updating inventory to the server

Please Help.. don't know what's going on.  My OCS agent won't update properly to the server. Below is my services.ini config and err I got on the computer_name.log file:

[OCS_SERVICE]
NoProxy=1
Server=xxx.xxx.x.xxx
Pnum=80
Miscellaneous=  /DEBUG /NP /TAG:"TECH" /server:xxx.xxx.x.xxx /pnum:80
PROLOG_FREQ=24
OLD_PROLOG_FREQ=24
TTO_WAIT=85020

-------------------------------------------------

OCS INVENTORY ver. 4032  Starting session for Device <PAT-629> on Thursday, May 10, 2007 12:23:19...
Command line parameters: <</debug /DEBUG /NP /TAG:"TECH" /server:xxx.xxx.x.xxx /pnum:80 >>

TAG FORCE: Tag forced by /tag, value:
HTTP SERVER: Connection WITHOUT proxy
WMI Connect: Trying to connect to WMI namespace root\cimv2 on device <Localhost>...OK.
Registry Connect: Trying to connect to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE on device <Localhost>...OK.
SetupAPI Connect: Trying to connect to SetupAPI on device <Localhost>...OK.
CHECKINGS: read <PAT-629-2007-05-02-11-51-38> and <00:E0:29:71:B5:D6> in ocsinventory.dat
IpHlpAPI GetNetworkAdapters...
IpHlpAPI GetNetworkAdapters: Calling GetIfTable to determine network adapter properties...OK
IpHlpAPI GetNetworkAdapters: Calling GetAdapterInfo to determine IP Infos...OK
IpHlpAPI GetNetworkAdapters: OK (1 objects).
CHECKINGS: write <PAT-629-2007-05-02-11-51-38> and <00:E0:29:71:B5:D6> in ocsinventory.dat
HTTP SERVER: Creating CInternetSession to get inventory parameters...OK.
HTTP SERVER: Getting HTTP Connection to server xxx.xxx.x.xxx port 80 using no authentication...OK.
HTTP SERVER: Sending prolog query...
HTTP SERVER: The operation timed out


HTTP SERVER: Closing HTTP connection
WMI Disconnect: Disconnected from WMI namespace.
SetupAPI Disconnect: Disconnected from SetupAPI.
Writing last inventory state file...
    Writing last inventory state not required.
Execution duration: 00:00:22.


In admin console I have FREQUENCY set for ALWAYS.  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Offline

#5 2007-05-11 16:38:48

dliroulet
OCS Team
From: Toulouse, France
Registered: 2007-03-12
Posts: 1,834
Website

Re: Agent not updating inventory to the server

Hi.

oak wrote:

I set OCS parameter in Admin console, config menu FREQUENCY is ALWAYS, that means Agent will send inventory to OCS server when Agent service start each time

Service will not launch agent each time it starts, but only every PROLOG_FREQ hours. And in service.ini, TTO_WAIT means number of seconds before service will launch agent.

When first installing service, you have to wait about 10 hours beofre it launch agent. So please, be patient. If not working, please launch agent in DEBUG mode and paste logs here.

tongkhae wrote:

HTTP SERVER: Getting HTTP Connection to server xxx.xxx.x.xxx port 80 using no authentication...OK.
HTTP SERVER: Sending prolog query...
HTTP SERVER: The operation timed out

Agent is not able to connect to communication server, network time out sad

Try from this computer to connect with your browser to admin console (if installed on same computer as Communication server).

Cheers


IRC Channel #ocsinventory-ng on FreeNode

Offline

#6 2007-05-16 11:57:41

srinivasan
Member
Registered: 2007-05-09
Posts: 5

Re: Agent not updating inventory to the server

Hi.

Thanks for the reply.

The value of FREQUENCY is set to ALWAYS. PROLOG_FREQ is set to 1.

Every time, I need to do a troubleshooting, If I provide /debug from the command prompt, the inventory is getting updated on the server. Even after newly installing the agent on the client, I need to do a debug.

Please help us to resolve the issue.

Thanks,
Srinivasan

Offline

#7 2007-05-17 09:17:37

dliroulet
OCS Team
From: Toulouse, France
Registered: 2007-03-12
Posts: 1,834
Website

Re: Agent not updating inventory to the server

srinivasan wrote:

Hi.

Thanks for the reply.

The value of FREQUENCY is set to ALWAYS. PROLOG_FREQ is set to 1.

Every time, I need to do a troubleshooting, If I provide /debug from the command prompt, the inventory is getting updated on the server. Even after newly installing the agent on the client, I need to do a debug.

Please help us to resolve the issue.

Thanks,
Srinivasan

Hi.

If launching agent manually with /DEBUG works fine, then you have an error in service.ini, line MISCELLANEOUS. Provide service.ini

Cheers


IRC Channel #ocsinventory-ng on FreeNode

Offline

#8 2007-05-17 12:16:07

srinivasan
Member
Registered: 2007-05-09
Posts: 5

Re: Agent not updating inventory to the server

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

Please find the service.ini below.

[OCS_SERVICE]
NoProxy=1
Server=<IP Address>
Pnum=80
Miscellaneous=/DEBUG /NP /server: <IP Address> /pnum:80
PROLOG_FREQ=1
OLD_PROLOG_FREQ=1
TTO_WAIT=2400

Thanks,
Srinivasan

Offline

#9 2007-05-17 12:46:21

localguru
Top member
From: Bielefeld, Germany
Registered: 2007-04-30
Posts: 156

Re: Agent not updating inventory to the server

Hi,

is there a whitespace in the /SERVER switch after the ":"? This line should work:

Miscellaneous=/SERVER:1.2.3.4 /NP /PNUM:80 /DEBUG

Stop service, set TTO_WAIT=5, start service again and look into the debug file.

Ciao,
Marcus

Offline

#10 2007-05-18 13:30:38

srinivasan
Member
Registered: 2007-05-09
Posts: 5

Re: Agent not updating inventory to the server

Hi Guru,

Thanks for the response.

Yes, there was a whitespace. I removed and made the other correction suggested by you. The server is able to get the inventory of the client.

Please tell me, when I am installing a client agent, How long it will take for the agent to update the server with its inventory?

Thanks,
Sri

Offline

#11 2007-05-18 14:04:53

dliroulet
OCS Team
From: Toulouse, France
Registered: 2007-03-12
Posts: 1,834
Website

Re: Agent not updating inventory to the server

Hi.

Whenusing service, about 10 hours.

Cheers


IRC Channel #ocsinventory-ng on FreeNode

Offline

#12 2007-05-21 05:22:47

srinivasan
Member
Registered: 2007-05-09
Posts: 5

Re: Agent not updating inventory to the server

Hello Everyone,

It is working great right now. I will seek your help if I face anyother problem.

Thank you very much for your support.

Regards,
Srinivasan

Offline

#13 2009-03-12 12:40:12

mujifur
Member
Registered: 2009-03-12
Posts: 4

Re: Agent not updating inventory to the server

I have installed the OCS windows agent with service I have configured the OCS Linux  server with OCS windows agent. Initially Agent sends inventory results to the server.  IF I remove any one of the software from the agent windows system.  It  is not sending updated inventory to the server. It is only sending  the old inventory results to the server. 

Please help me resolve this

Regards,
Mujifur

Offline

#14 2009-03-12 12:41:14

mujifur
Member
Registered: 2009-03-12
Posts: 4

Re: Agent not updating inventory to the server

Hi all,

I have installed the OCS windows agent with service I have configured the OCS Linux  server with OCS windows agent. Initially Agent sends inventory results to the server.  IF I remove any one of the software from the agent windows system.  It  is not sending updated inventory to the server. It is only sending  the old inventory results to the server. 

Please help me resolve this

Regards,
Mujifur

Offline

#15 2009-03-13 10:35:57

mujifur
Member
Registered: 2009-03-12
Posts: 4

Re: Agent not updating inventory to the server

mujifur wrote:

I have installed the OCS windows agent with service I have configured the OCS Linux  server with OCS windows agent. Initially Agent sends inventory results to the server.  IF I remove any one of the software from the agent windows system.  It  is not sending updated inventory to the server. It is only sending  the old inventory results to the server. 

Please help me resolve this

Regards,
Mujifur

Offline

#16 2010-09-15 19:20:12

busysd
Member
Registered: 2010-09-15
Posts: 3

Re: Agent not updating inventory to the server

I'm having a problem where OCS is set via the service.ini file to check in every 24 hours to GLPI.

[OCS_SERVICE]
Server=*.*.*.*
Pnum=80
NoProxy=0
Miscellaneous= /SERVER:*.*.*.* /PNUM:80 /DEBUG
auth_user=none
auth_pwd=none
PROLOG_FREQ=24
OLD_PROLOG_FREQ=24
TTO_WAIT=28020

Some of the pc's in glpi show that it has been up to a week since their last check in via OCS.

Is there anyway to have OCS update daily consistently?

Offline

#17 2010-09-16 08:31:49

kapouik
Administrator and OCS Team
From: Pink Town (South of France)
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 3,376
Website

Re: Agent not updating inventory to the server

Please open a new topic for new question !


Before asking any questions please read the documentation on http://wiki.ocsinventory-ng.org/ . No help will be given if you don't have read this two page :
- http://wiki.ocsinventory-ng.org/index.p … ion:Newbie
- http://wiki.ocsinventory-ng.org/index.p … n:Main#FAQ
OCS Inventory NG is made by a team of volunteer on our free time.

Offline

#18 2011-08-04 13:05:57

pam009
Member
Registered: 2011-08-04
Posts: 1

Re: Agent not updating inventory to the server

Hi everyone
I saw this thread and understood that levitra you are here able to give really necessary and helpfull tips of advice!!
If i face some problem I'll ask for help mainly right here

Last edited by pam009 (2011-09-01 13:58:45)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB